ARC REVIEW: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Monday, March 23, 2015

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: May 5, 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Format: ARC, 432 pages
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1
Pre-order Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Add To Goodreads


A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore. 
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.
As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. 
Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

*I received an advanced reader's copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*


   This was one of my most anticipated books of 2015 and with good reason. Because it's Sarah J. Maas and I love her Throne of Glass series!! So naturally I was really excited for ACOTAR. But I was really REALLY nervous as there was a lot of hype for this. Lots of people have already read it and have had nothing but good things to say about it. And I always get worried that it might not live up to my expectations.

   I was really happy when I was able to get my hands on a copy at ALA Midwinter. It was actually the first book I received there since I thought it would run out and so I went straight for it.

   At the beginning, I thought the world building was a bit slow around the first hundred pages and that had me worrying that it would stay like that throughout the whole novel and I would end up not liking it. But to my surprise it ended up picking up. I thought the writing was very splendid and beautifully done. Though sometimes the pacing did go slow at times and there were parts where I felt my heart racing.

   The story begins with our main character, Feyre, hunting for her family's survival. She stumbles upon a big wolf and kills it and a sexy beast barges in on her family's cottage demanding to know who killed the wolf. The beast tells her that in order to repay the life she killed, she has to come with him in the faerie lands.

  It was all such an enamoring retelling of Beauty In The Beast. There's the sexy beast, the big manor, a study room with walls filled with books, there's dancing although not in a ball room, but the gown is there. And with all this, I was predicting that just like in the disney Beauty and the Beast movie, Feyre would be getting her rescue soon. I was very happy that it had it's own story and isn't just a retelling. There was also something in ACOTAR that was in The Beauty and The Beast but that would be a spoiler. But I will say that it surprised me because I completely forgotten about that aspect of Beauty in The Beast.

   The world that Sarah J. Maas created was so clear and vivid in my head. I had so much fun imagining it. And I really loved the map that it has. It was really helpful at times.

   Although I really wished that there had been a glossary in the back because there were a lot of types of Fae and creatures that it was hard to keep track of them all. It did get confusing at some times.

   When I neared the ending, everything started to become clear and was becoming intense as our heroine was gearing off to face the "threat." It's not clear as who the threat is until the end. And it was so unpredictable! It was just down-to-Earth epic!! And I would totally re-read it again.

   Funny story... I told myself that I would just sneak peak at the first page. Then guess what?! Several hours later, I find myself a hundred pages into the story. It just pulled me in and I didn't want to stop.

   Feyre is one of my favorite protagonists. She's just so baddass and knows how to hunt and defend herself. She doesn't need someone to take care of her. It's more like she's the one taking care of her father and her two useless older sisters. The only complain I have of her is her name. I like it but I found it cheesy considering the book is about faeries. Feyre and faeries.. Get it?!

   On the subject about faeries, I don't like reading about them. They aren't my most favorite supernatural creature. And I actually enjoyed reading about the fae. I think ACOTAR might be the only book where I do love them.

   Tamlin is our other protagonist. He's such a sexy beast. My favorite way to describe him because of how he barged in on Feyre's home. He's a sexy shapeshifting faerie lord and I instantly fell in love with him. He's so manly and such a gentleman. Even though he can be fierce.

   The romance was my favorite aspect of the book. It was not instant as Feyre is a mortal and Tamlin is a fae and they both hated each other in the beginning. But then they started being more around each other. And there was a particular scene that was my ultimate favorite!! It was sweet and steamy! And just fan-worthy. My heart was racing fast and I wanted more of it. Too bad this is YA!!

   Overall, A Court of Thorns and Roses will really appeal to readers that love high fantasy. It has all the right elements: romance, adventure, action, and so much more!!! The ending left off at a perfect spot. But it still leaves us wanting for more. I'm really looking forward for the sequel.


4 Hearts: A Great Read!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you so much for commenting! It really makes me happy knowing that people actually read my posts and that I'm not talking to myself. I will always try to respond to comments when I can or return the favor by commenting on your blog if you have one :)

As of August 2015, A Reader Under The Sea is an award-free blog. I appreciate it that you want to award me with something :)